Skip to content

A Home Retrofit for #1 Dartmouth

August 19, 2013

“I paid off my house last year,” Ted Cashin explains, “and thought now that I have some spare money, I’ll invest some back in my house.”

So Ted called in Retrofit America. We started with a complete home energy audit for Ted’s home in Avondale Estates.

“It’s a good opportunity to look at how the whole house works,” Ted says. “You analyze the whole house. You’re not just looking at one piece. You’re looking at the whole system – how to make it all work together.”

Retrofit America improved the insulation in Ted’s attic, and he installed a new HVAC system.

Blown fiberglass insulation

Blown fiberglass insulation

For his attic space, Ted had two options: Adding more blown fiberglass insulation to the attic plane or spray foaming under the roof deck and gable walls.

“I don’t really need the attic for storage, and I don’t have HVAC equipment up there,”he says. “so improving the blown insulation is much cheaper.”

To get Ted’s attic right, first sealing air leakage is key. We covered the whole-house fan with a foam board box and installed an attic insulation tent. Then we blew another 10″ of fiberglass insulation to bring the insulation value to R-38.

More than 15" for R-38

More than 15″ for R-38

What was the impact?

“The next day I left my home at noon and moved my thermostat setting up from 75º to 79º,” Ted says. “It was in the 80s all afternoon. When I got back home that evening, the temperature in my home was only 77º. My home had stayed cool on its own. What great efficiency!”

Attic insulation tent

Attic insulation tent

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

